Laughing all the Way to the Chicken Coop

copyright 2013 Lisa Rainwater

copyright 2013 Lisa Rainwater

As I hinted at in my Monday post regarding the appalling news coverage of the Boston Marathon bombing, it really does appear that American cable news has left the building (Sorry, Elvis, I’m sure they are in hot pursuit of you as I write this).

I tracked a story about the bombing on CNN.com yesterday as it unfolded and knew in my gut that something smelled rotten …

It turns out, it was the false news of CNN’s John King, reporting on the arrest of the alleged bomber — whose face King just happened to note was a dark-skinned male. Wolf Blitzer praised his colleague’s ingenuity as a gumshoe and his “dramatic, exclusive reporting.”

Here’s one of John Stewart’s more memorable moments of late. Turns out he has the exclusive on the exclusive.

The Daily Show with Jon Stewart Mon – Thurs 11p / 10c
The Most Busted Name in News
www.thedailyshow.com
Daily Show Full Episodes Indecision Political Humor The Daily Show on Facebook

Wikipedia describes “yellow journalism” as such:

“A type of journalism that presents little or no legitimate well-researched news and instead uses eye-catching headlines to sell more newspapers. Techniques may include exaggerations of news events, scandal-mongering, or sensationalism. By extension, the term yellow journalism is used today as a pejorative to decry any journalism that treats news in an unprofessional or unethical fashion.”

CNN’s logo should shift to that other primary color. And, no, I don’t mean blue.

At least I was able to figure out what smelled so rotten.

And trust me, there is nothing worse than the smell of a rotten egg yolk.

Related articles